Make: Vanilla Sugar

Vanilla sugar

A very quick post for you today

Possibly the simplest foodie present going – all you need is sugar, vanilla pods and jars

Recipe

I got my ceramic topped jars from a lovely vintage-style home store in Chester (although I strangely saw similar ones in John Lewis craft department)

After temporarily removing the rubber seals, I sterilised the jars by washing them in hot soapy water and then drying them in the oven (pre-heated on 140c)

Once dried, I simply added golden caster sugar and stuck half a vanilla pod in each jar

You can then use string, ribbon and bells to finish off the look

Simple!

And the best bit is, it’s the gift that keeps on giving – as the sugar is used, fresh stuff can be added and the pods should be good for a year

Am going to keep a jar back for myself to try out in hot drinks, baking and on toast (an American blog idea!)

Yum

Baking Beasties

I was going to make Christmas biscuits this evening, but it seems I have an infestation of tiny bugs in my baking cupboard!

Not sure what they are… but they’ve taken out four bags of flour so far… and I feel itchy just thinking about them

Any ideas on the best way to proceed?

One thought on “Make: Vanilla Sugar

  1. […] Sprinkle with sugar and a little butter  (great opportunity to use my vanilla sugar) […]

Leave a Reply

