Bake: With beetroot

Beetroot is my favourite root vegetable, I enjoy its pinkness and its sweet crunch. I nearly always have a pack of cooked beetroot in my fridge. I have never bought uncooked beetroot, until last weekend when I wanted to add layers of colour to boulangere potatoes, a pink (but very tasty) mess ensued and I was left with alot of raw beetroot That I had no idea what to do with, untill the idea of carrot cake with beetroot occured to me, and this is what followed.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

For these you will need your favourite carrot cake recipe.

I adapted this from a Fiona Cairns recipe, because to my mind her carrot cake is the best:

185ml sunflower oil

175g brown sugar

3 eggs

250g beetroot grated- I used raw beetroot, cooked would work equally as well

60g toasted hazelnuts

50g desiccated coconut

200g self raising flour

1 tsp baking powder

1tsp cinamon

1 tsp nutmeg

This recipe makes one 23cm cake, or 6 individual cakes if like me you can’t wait a whole hour for a large cake to bake!

Firstly, pre-heat your oven to 160 degrees then oil and line your cake tins with baking parchment. For small dariole moulds I oil my tin then place a circle of paper at the base, I don’t bother to line the whole tin.

Pour your oil and sugar into a large mixing bowl then with an electric mixer beat these two together until smooth and well combined. Next add your egg, slowly and one at a time, beating them in well as you add each one. Lastly add your grated beetroot, coconut, flour, baking powder and spices, fold these gently into the mix with a wooden spoon. Pour the mix into your prepared moulds, I filled my dariole moulds about half way and then baked them for around 20-30 minutes, until the cake bounced back to the touch. Cool your cakes on a baking tray, resisting temptation to crack one open straight away, all good things come to those who wait! Once cool your cakes might need a little help coming out, you can run a knife around the edge of the mould, turn it over onto the plate/bowl you wish to serve your cake on then tap gently, out it should pop. I served my cake with a little creme fraiche, Some rhubarb compote would have worked nicely also.

The visual on this cake was a little disappointing, the vivid pink of the cake batter turned golden brown in baking, but still a little marbled pink remained running through. Texture and was excellent, Next time I think I shall bake this recipe with parsnip instead of beetroot. I imagine courgette and pumpkin would work rather well too.

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

