Visit: Market Harborough

A day off with Blue sky? too good to be true! So how did we spend it? A visit to the town of Market Harborough.

Now I’ve lived a twenty minute drive from Market Harborough for most of my life, I currently work fifteen minutes away from the town and I’ve previously worked a stones throw from the centre. Despite all this  I can’t actually remember the last time I fully appreciated Market Harborough and what it has to offer, so it was good to take some time to explore and rediscover the town.

We went antiquing at Gildings followed by a stroll into the town centre. On our way we walked through Joules Yard which harbours an array of weird and wonderful bric a brac, including the most impressive selection of stone statuettes I have ever seen! In the town centre there are scenes I can recall vividly form my childhood. the wicker baskets hanging outside the Frank Gilbert hardware store and the flowers being sold by the roadside. We had lunch at Milo’s cafe, a quick sandwich and a ginger beer followed by a trip to Farndon fields farm shop for some Colston Bassett Stilton and a chat with a goat eating parsnip and a mother hen.

It was a good day.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Visit: Market Harborough

  1. I have visited this town a few times. They have a fantastic Kitchen Shop!!!

    • makedospend says:

      Do you know, I forgot to visit the kitchen shop?! I had forgotten all about it until you just reminded me! This is a travesty and i’m going to have to visit again asap!
      -E

  2. platformpieces says:

    Sounds like a good day! I haven’t had a ginger beer since I was 10 and wanted to be an Enid Blyton character… Nostalgia!

    • makedospend says:

      I would secretly still like to be an Enid Blyton character! You’ve just reminded me of a very good ginger beer recipe I must dig out!
      -E

Leave a Reply

