Bake: Bananas (lots of)

Image

I love bananas

I love them sliced onto cereal, muesli, and porridge

I love them with honey on toast (or even better IN a toastie)

I love them whizzed into milkshakes, made into ice-cream, puffed into soufflés… yum

But I rarely eat them just as they are – especially as I find them such an effort to get through

(In fact, I have a theory that the way to test if you’re really hungry or just eating something for the sake of it is imagine yourself eating a banana

If you can’t, then you don’t need no food – it’s scientific)

Anyhow, a couple of days ago I picked up a bunch of 7 bananas in Asda’s discount area for 23p

And this evening… I set about turning them into something a little more unhealthy

BANANA BAKE ONE: Simple Banana Loaf

Image

Unlike E, who is amazing at just free-styling cakes, I’m a little more reliant on recipes!

So I’m still loving the Mary Berry Baking Bible my parents bought me for Christmas – so I adapted her recipe only slightly

I used:

  • 100g softened butter
  • 175g golden caster sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 ripe bananas, mashed
  • 225g wholemeal self-raising flour
  • 1 level tsp baking powder
  • 2 tbsp semi-skimmed milk

Pre-heat oven to 180 degrees (160 fan) or gas 4

Lightly grease a 2lb loaf tin and line with baking paper

Chuck all ingredients into a mixing bowl and beat together

Spoon into tin

Bake for around 1 hour – until well risen and golden brown (test with knife to check it comes out clean)

Cool on wire rack (or your grill – multi-purpose!)

BANANA BAKE TWO: Banana, chocolate and coconut bars

You know sometimes, something you bake is just very disappointing?

I really liked the idea of baked banana between katy layers, with a sprinkling of chocolate and toasted coconut on top

But these turned out greasy, too sweet and instantly fell apart

Back to the mixing bowl…

BANANA BAKE THREE: Umm… Baked Banana

Okay, so I was running out of oven space – and effort to wash up everything AGAIN

I used:

  • 3 bananas
  • lemon juice

Slice bananas – about 2-3mm thick

Stick on tray covered in baking paper – and brush with lemon juice

Vaguely guess how hot the oven should be – it started off at 160 fan… then down to 120 after I took my banana loaf out

Bake  for around an hour – turning halfway through

They’ll still be quite sticky when you first take them out, but will harden up as they cool

These turned out to be quite chewy, but naturally very sweet – great for mixing in with muesli -will definitely make them again – a very easy way to use up ripe bananas

BUT REMEMBER: This is 3 bananas worth of chips – they’d be very easy to eat in just a few handfuls!

BANANA BAKING: FINAL THOUGHTS

I have one banana left

And I really don’t think I can face eating it

Do you have any full-proof recipes for using up overripe bananas?

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Bake: Bananas (lots of)

  1. Reblogged this on Healthy Demeanor and commented:
    That banana bread looks delicious!

  2. Always A Reason To Smilee says:

    OMG THESE ALL LOOK AMAZING!

  3. Reblogged this on truelifeimagradstudent and commented:
    yummy post!

Leave a Reply

