Do:Comfort Food

I love to cook, It’s a big part of my daily routine, it helps me relax and unwind after a day’s work. I enjoy the challenge of creating something delicious at the end of the day, especially on days when there’s seemingly no food left in the house, I love that gratifying feeling of creating something out of nothing!

Then there are times when I just can’t be bothered! If i’m hungover I crave all things that are bad for me, fizzy drinks, bacon sandwiches and pizza.

This week I’ve been poorly and my enthusiasm for cooking has evaded me completely.  Unfortunately I’m now well over the age of my Mother taking pity on me and whipping me up some tasty soup delivered to a makeshift nest on the sofa. (Though she did pop round for a cup of tea and to tell me I look and sound like s**t!) So I’ve been left to look after myself. Crumpets, beans on toast and miso soup have all been on the menu. All very satisfying and all cooked and onto my plate in a matter of minutes!

When I think of comfort food I’ve always imagined a hot bowl of stew served with some crusty bread and a glass of red wine on a cold winter evening. This week comfort food has been about food that requires speed  and minimum effort, though fortunately I’ve not been tempted by either super noodles or take aways! I’m looking forward to getting back to cooking soon, and I’m going to try not to get ill again!

Whats your favourite comfort food?

Tagged , , , , , ,

18 thoughts on “Do:Comfort Food

  1. Great idea!!! I might have to borrow it ;)

  2. makedospend says:

    Fiddly stuff! I couldn’t find an N! Fun though :-)
    -E

  3. It’s super cool! I love what you have done here :) When you have the time, do drop by my space. I just made some bread pudding and would love to heat what you think :)

  4. PJ Girl says:

    Sorry to hear you’ve been unwell… comfort food always helps me! Cheese Pie, rice pudding or anything else stodgy and carb based! I’ve now got a hankering for alphabet spaghetti – it’s been years since I’ve had this!

  5. makedospend says:

    Thank you, i’m much better today! Back to dreaming up new recipes. You’ve got me thinking about rice pudding now, maybe with chocolate….. :-)
    -E

  6. I love these photos – they made me laugh. I hope you’re feeling better soon.

  7. Pink Ninjabi says:

    Last night I engaged with an old bestie friend favorite in grade six of grilled cheese, except this time, it was much healthier, this seventeen years later wiser mind: Nordic bread with no preservatives, real cheddar cheese sliced, organic butter, and tomato sauce mixed with a bit of sugar as a dipping sauce. It was sooo yum!

    Thank you for sharing. :D

    Pink.

  8. Flash of Brilliance says:

    The pictures are fantastic! At first I was like, “Where’d you find these on google?” and then I realized you took them. It’s great. Comfort food for me is really anything tasty…

    • makedospend says:

      Thank you! It was a rare moment of weakness eating alphabetti spaghetti, Needed to be photo documented! (though it did take a while to fish out the letters!!)
      -E

  9. JPanda says:

    mmmmm comfort food~

    Eating is one thing I LOVE! :D

  10. PushDumpFatButton says:

    Reblogged this on Push Dump Fat Button.

Leave a Reply

