Watch: Frankenstein

I’ve just got back from the cinema, where I watched the most amazing theatre production

Odd sentence?

Every year the National Theatre organise a series of productions to be streamed live from the stage to hundreds of cinema screens around the world

Last year, one of their most successful productions was Danny Boyle’s production of Frankenstein

So popular in fact, that they’ve decided to tease ahead to the new NT Live season by screening the recordings of the show again…

For anyone who’s ever read Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein, you’ll know how bound the title character is with his “monster”

To emphasise this, throughout the run of the production the two lead actors – Benedict Cumberbatch and Jonny Lee Miller – swapped roles on alternate nights

Last year I saw the live stream of the show at Broadway in Nottingham – with Cumberbatch as Frankenstein and Miller as the creature

I was completely won over by the incredible scenery (the lights hanging above the are just something else), costumes, script – everything was completely captivating

And the acting from the leads was just so brilliant I thought they were made for the roles

That’s why I was very interested to see them in the alternate roles – and was so happy to secure a ticket to see the appropriate encore at Phoenix Square in Leicester this evening (every seat was full!)

And my verdict? AMAZING

I urge you to catch the encores while and if you can

My only regret is not having seen the production in an actual theatre too!

(The trailer does NOT do it justice – but I needed something to break up the stream of consciousness!)

Tagged , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Watch: Frankenstein

  1. Dare Right says:

    I’m a huge fan of both Benedict Cumberbatch and Jonny Lee Miller; ever since I heard that they were both doing this I have just been dying to see it!

    I’m curious, did you have a preference seeing it with Cumberbatch as Frankenstein and Miller as the creature, or vice versa?

    • makedospend says:

      I really thought I would – which I worried about – but after discussing with my friend, we decided it was a good thing we couldn’t decide which combo we liked the best

      They’re both such excellent actors that the transformation into each character is absolute – although at the same time, you can see elements of the other role seeping in

      For example – the stuttering of Miller’s creature also appears in his Frankenstein at moments of heightened emotion – so at those moments I would be reminded of his performance as the creature

      Very clever stuff

      You should definitely try and catch a screening if you can – just watching it once is amazing – but both ways add a whole new level

      (I’ll stop gushing now!)

      – B

  2. platformpieces says:

    My school took us to see a screening (I studied Frankenstein for my AS level) – sooo good! I only got to see Cumberbatch as the monster, but he’s so cold and reserved, I wanted to see him as Frankenstein.

    • makedospend says:

      Yes, it’s such a brilliant production – and amazing how you sort of forget you’re watching a screen and you’re not there with them

      I think there are some more screenings next month at certain cinemas, so you might be able to catch the other version still!

Leave a Reply

