Don’t: Put things off

During the last few days I’ve been making the most of the sunshine that is currently gracing the UK

Ice creams, lunch by the canal, reading in the garden, actually using the washing line…

But, I could’ve enjoyed it more if I wasn’t a recovering ‘putter offer’

Symptoms:

  • Rarely washes up immediately after finishing a meal (or the next day)
  • Delays making intimidating/important phone calls
  • Spends hours reading blogs, but fails to achieve anything in an evening
  • Wears pretty much her whole wardrobe before putting on a wash
  • Shoves letters/papers/scribblings in drawers, rather than spending a moment to file them
  • Doesn’t fill up petrol until it’s on red and she has a 6.30am shift
  • Etc. etc. etc.

Treatment:

I’m been trying to change my habits over the past few months (see Do: Spring Clean) – and this evening has been a great reminder why

My house needs to be in tip top conditions (or at least vaguely on the way) by tomorrow

And there’s quite a few things that I’ve been putting off

So, rather than getting the full benefits of this warm summer’s evening, I’ve been…

  • Scrubbing the oven – so much better to use foil and wipe down once a week
  • Clearing out hundreds of plastic bags – need to think about taking bags for life with me
  • Organising cupboards – easier to file/throw out paper as it arrives in the house
  • Sorting hallway – have not worn bobble hat for at least 5 months
  • Etc. etc. etc.

And, although it’s not much fun – the results feel much better than the guilt of putting-it-off!

Okay, I’m done

Tagged ,

15 thoughts on “Don’t: Put things off

  1. Sarah says:

    If it’s properly getting you down, try this for some motivation :)
    http://unfuckyourhabitat.tumblr.com

  2. kerrycooks says:

    Having a big clear out does make you happier I think! I’m the converse – I spent last night not doing (needed) tidying because I decided to make the most of the nice weather! And I can definitely relate to the blog thing – Its just too easy to get lost for hours looking at awesome blogs!

    • makedospend says:

      If I hadn’t been preparing for guests to stay I would’ve also given it all a miss

      I just need to make sure I spend a little time keeping on top of mess before it becomes a bigger job!

  3. PJ Girl says:

    I have those symptoms too but I seem to be allergic to the treatment!

  4. well you must be feeling very virtuous this evening! i’m just knackered …didn’t get home from work until after 9pm! This post reminded me of being at uni…when I should have been revising….but then found I jsut HAD to clean my wardrobe.I’m a gereat procrastinator too!

    • makedospend says:

      I didn’t even tidy up then! I just wasted time making food and staring out the window (I got a better view if I actually sat on my desk)

      I hate mess, but it seems to be my natural setting (you’ve seen my desk… Or rather the piles of paper on it!)

  5. I totally relate ! I’ve taken today off as a personal admin day to get all those things done but it’s 9:30am and I’m still in bed reading blogs …..

  6. WHITNEY says:

    We are the same, you and I.

  7. labrynthe says:

    Aack! I’ve been experiencing the symptoms too!

Leave a Reply

