Make: Spiced plum Whiskey

This recipe is something of an experiment. I’ve made Sloe gin before and i’ve tasted damson Whiskey which was very delicious. However this flavour combination, in this application, is a venture into the unknown……………….

Now is a great time to be making flavoured alcohol, Autumn fruits are ready to be harvested and preserved so the flavours will have a few months to infuse, ready just in time for Christmas. This Spiced Plum Whisky is to be added to my Christmas gift hampers, so fingers crossed it works!

To make my Spiced Plum Whisky I have used:

  • 3 litres of Whisky
  • 20 plums
  • 440g soft brown sugar
  • 2 cinnamon sticks
  • 5 cloves
  • 4 star anise
  • A splash of vanilla extract (roughly 5-10ml)

I quartered the plums into an ovenproof dish then added the brown sugar, spices and vanilla extract. I then roasted them for 25 minutes at 160 degrees c until the plums turned a golden amber colour and started to release their juices, then I let the plums cool completely. Next I transferred them, along with the Whisky into a large Tupperware container with a tight fitting lid. I’m storing the whisky in a cool dark place, in a few weeks time I’ll be tasting the Whisky to make sure the flavours are coming along nicely and will tweak if necessary, i’m not a big Whisky fan but I love all the other flavours and am hoping for some tasty results!

Do you have any alcohol infusing tips or flavour pairing suggestions?

Tagged , , , , , , ,

11 thoughts on “Make: Spiced plum Whiskey

  1. walter says:

    Looks very tasty, lovely colors!

  2. sounds like a hit to me, smooth and fruity –like Christmas cake in a bottle (I am one of the few people on this earth who loves Christmas cake)

    • makedospend says:

      I too am a fan of a good Christmas fruit cake, provided it’s well doused in whisky or brandy! I love the idea of capturing the flavours of a fruit cake in a bottle, a name change may be in order!
      -E

  3. Looks amazing! I’m thinking boozy treacle smoothies for some reason!

  4. I’m making blackberry whiskey which is just blackberries, sugar and whiskey, shaken, not stirred and forgotten about until this time next year, when it will be quite sublime.

    • makedospend says:

      This sounds quite delicious, and extremely well organised! I may have to find some late blackberrys and whip up a batch for next winter
      -E

  5. Your plum whiskey sounds like a wonderful winter warmer and the perfect thing to souse a Christmas cake with. We were given a bottle of some incredible sloe gin, flavoured with almond essence, last year and I don’t like it lasted til new year

Leave a Reply

