Snap: The Burning House

If your house was on fire and you had to escape, what would you take with you?

It’s likely you own a wide variety of possessions, but which ones do you value the most?

The Burning House is a website which really makes you think about our relationship with things

People from across the globe have their choices featured on the website, and it’s interesting to see how sentimental keepsakes generally beat expensive purchases

We’ve both submitted our selections to the website – they may not be featured, but we thought we’d share them with you anyway…

P1100399

B’s selection:

I tried to think about what I’d grab if I had only my two hands to carry everything (so that’s my beloved hifi gone!), what I’d most miss most if it were gone, and what was impossible to replace

  • A ring, broach and bracelet inherited from my Granny
  • A box filled with various gemstones from my Grandpa, a former jeweller
  • Letters written by my Grandad to my Grandma during wartime
  • My watch, a recent gift from my parents – but already fully attached to it!
  • My laptop – for the photos it holds, if nothing else
  • My car keys – so I can save my lovely car and escape
  • My passport – ID

E's Burning house

E’s selection:

I have a vast selection of ‘stuff’ so was expecting this to be quite a challenge, I was surprised how quickly I could filter out unimportant items from what really matters to me.

  • An eggbeater given to me by my Grandmother
  • My Dad’s Olympus OM1
  • Car Keys
  • My Grandmother’s ring
  • A photograph of my Mum and Dad on their wedding day
  • Pearl necklace given to me by my Godmother
  • A slice of Royal wedding cake
  • My mobile phone
Tagged

8 thoughts on “Snap: The Burning House

  1. paperbagblog says:

    Oh gosh, I really love this idea! My first thought is my cat and my laptop (hopefully my boyfriend can fend for himself…!) but I would really need to think about more specific, personal items.

    • makedospend says:

      It really is an interesting thing to consider. In a real life fire situation of course you’d firstly worry about rescuing people and animals (as you say!)

      Be sure to check out The Burning House site – it’s updated every day and is fascinating!

  2. Interesting exercise! I have to say I relate to B’s selection more! I would also add my VISA! lol

    • makedospend says:

      It is interesting – I own a lot of ‘things’ that I really love and would be very upset to lose… but definitely some stand out more than others B

  3. bakearama says:

    Wow great idea! It makes me realise I have very few heirlooms or items passed down though – from my paternal grandma I inherited a dining table and chairs and a dyson! My maternal grandma recently moved house and from this I have a beautiful tea set, it’s currently being stored at my mums until we buy a place, although I fear will be too big to carry out in a fire!

  4. makedospend says:

    I think some objects are just irreplaceable, no matter what their sentimental value- heirlooms or otherwise.
    This tea set sounds very exciting, photos please!
    -E

  5. ambruhn says:

    That is such a scary thought–but I’d grab the computer (for the photos of course) and the passports.

    • makedospend says:

      I know, it would be terrible to have to make the decision for real

      I guess then, it would be whatever was closest – if you even had time for that!

Leave a Reply

