A week of… letters

Communication is now instant, e-mails and text messages can be sent at the touch of a button and have quickly become the preferred means of contact for many. Snail mail, like analog film is less popular as it takes a long time, it costs a little more and can sometimes have unreliable results.

All this being said, there is no better feeling than returning home after a long day to find, amongst the bills and local takeaway menus a handwritten letter from a friend has arrived, or a note from a housemate left next to the kettle for you to find as you make your morning cup of tea. There are many ways to be creative when connecting with people

This week we decided to re-descover the lost art of letter writing and come up with some more inventive forms of communication…

E’s letters…

Monday

I whipped out my fountain pen and wrote some long overdue thank you cards

thank you cards

Tuesday

Into the post box……

in the post

Wednesday

I wrote C a hidden message in wax resist, he had to paint over the top in watercolours to reveal my thoughts

secret letter

Thursday

A letter to Bob- at work

a letter to Bob

Friday

Fridge Magnet based interactions between C and Myself

fridge letters

Saturday

Baking honey and ginger biscuits to be dipped in chocolate and send in the post for a friend’s Birthday

P1050295

Sunday

The best card I received this week was from Little Billy Bear

a card from Billy

B’s letters…

Monday

A letter written (on a map!) to a former uni housemate now living in London
Sent along with a USB stick loaded with a couple of albums I think he should hear
We’re hoping to start a regular letter/music sharing habit

IMG_9719

Tuesday

I work at a radio station, and today a 76-year-old listener sent me some maps (long story!)
So I wrote a thankyou letter back – using headed note paper and everything

Wednesday

E – here is the postcard I wrote for you today!
(Sorry I’ve STILL not yet posted it…!)

IMG_9732

Thursday

Ever had that sudden, horrible realisation that you’ve forgotten a friend’s birthday? And even worse… you’ve text them since without mentioning it? That happened, followed by a belated birthday card (hastily scrawled in the Post Office just before the last post)

Friday

I used to send D an email every day with interesting links to read in his coffee break – that’s until Christmas happened and I got super busy – so today I took the time to resurrect the tradition
(I hope using a computer isn’t cheating too much!)

Screen Shot 2013-01-14 at 17.44.39

Saturday

No amount of tea can help finish this crossword!

IMG_9746

Sunday

D and I spent a few hours working on our New York holiday book
Reliving the fantastic time we had, as we tried to record all the little details that made it

P1100432

Tagged , ,

9 thoughts on “A week of… letters

  1. This is so lovely; I need to put pen to paper more.

    • makedospend says:

      It has been really good making an effort to write things down this week – I hope to continue writing more letters, postcards and even diary entries now we’ve started

      B x

  2. bakearama says:

    Beautiful pictures ladies! And thank you for the reminder that I need to put a birthday card in the post tomorrow… I’m off to do it now :-)

  3. Siobhan says:

    There’s nothing quite like getting a lovely letter from a friend in the post, so I try to send them myself as well. I love the map letter!

    • makedospend says:

      I quite agree, a handwritten letter cannot fail to brighten anyone’s day as it’s so much more personal and meaningful

  4. Labrynthe says:

    I always feel like I’m falling in love whenever I look at your photos! (ღ′◡‵)❤

  5. […] by a beautiful post from Make, Do and Spend, I felt compelled to write a letter to someone. The ease and […]

Leave a Reply

