A week of… Making

One of the main reasons we started this blog was to share our love for making things – from bread to birthday cards

When things are busy, arty projects and creative cooking can be put on the back burner a little – but not all is lost!

This week we decided to think about the little things we make every day – from five minute doodles to midnight baking

B’s week of making…

Monday
Beginning to make a list of places to visit on my and D’s Canadian adventure!

Canada guide books

Tuesday
I’m still working on making my perennial calendar a bit more interesting… but at least it’s up in the kitchen now – what d’you think?

Perenial calendar

Wednesday
For Lent I’ve given up buying takeaway coffees, so instead I’m trying my hand at making homemade cappuccinos

IMG_9980

Thursday
In an effort to keep up with my French lessons, I’m making labels for anything and everything around the house – even the loo paper!

collage

Friday
E and C must take the credit for the wonderful cake we stayed up creating late into the night – although I did do a mean bit of egg white/yolk seperating

Lemon meringue cake

Saturday
A belated birthday apology to a former housemate, written on a jigsaw puzzle

IMG_0007

Sunday
Last minute gingerbread baking for our first Foodie Penpal recipient – thought I’d give her a wave!

Gingerbread biscuits

E’s week of making…

Monday
Trying to remember how to knit!

knitting

Tuesday
Pancakes for pancake day, I had mine with honey and vanilla ice cream

pancakes with honey and ice cream

Wednesday
Origami birds

image

Thursday
A heart garland to celebrate Valentine’s Day

hearts

Friday
A lemon meringue layer cake for Clandestine Cake Club, recipe to follow…

lemon meringue cake

Saturday
Little ceramic tea lights for the garden

image

Sunday
Sweet potato, coconut and chilli soup, lunch for the week ahead…

coconut, sweet potato and chilli soup

What have you made recently?

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

20 thoughts on “A week of… Making

  1. I love the idea of adding the French tags to your items to help you remember them. I’m definitely gonna borrow that idea to help with my Spanish! Thanks and lovely post 😊

  2. not enough money
    boy, you are one creative girl!

  3. Jess says:

    What a productive week! Such a nice idea to do a little creative thing each day. You’ve inspired me!

  4. Janet says:

    I loved this post! I might set myself a challenge to have my own week of making… I have been SO lazy lately.

    • makedospend says:

      This comes highly recommended, though sometimes it’s hard to find the time or inclination. I rather fancy ‘a week of lazy’ for a weeks theme in the future!

  5. peter wyeth says:

    That soup looks lovely! Where can I find the recipe or is it top secret?

    • makedospend says:

      Thank you, no secret, rather a case of whacking it all in a pan! We used about 4 red onions, 1kg sweet potatoes and a couple of garlic cloves and sweated these in a pan.
      Then we added a can of coconut milk, 4 tomatoes, 2 litres vegetable stock and a tablespoon of tomato puree, simmered all together until the potatoes were cooked through then blitzed to a puree.
      This made 4 days worth of soup for two people! It’s absolutely delicious :-)

  6. Laura says:

    What a creative week you had! And love the other pics of steam train travel. Have you been to Indietracks festival in Derbsyhire before? One of the best things is getting there by steam train x

    • makedospend says:

      I have indeed!

      I went in 2011 when it was a super hot weekend and had a really wonderful time – one of the highlights of the year

      B x

  7. MegsFitness says:

    Did you pay for those paint color swatches? There are so many people just nabbing them for crafting projects these days that they’re actually starting to charge for them.

Leave a Reply

