Our week: 1st-8th March

P1100615

The week B had…

Made: While in Paris I bought a little cardboard Eiffel Tower as a momento, and this week managed to construct it – a lot more fiddly than I’d anticipated, I nearly had to bring in a support team!

Did: Finally took a trip down to London to see the Rain Room installation at the Barbican – it was an early start and a long queue, but worth it

Spent: Seemingly lots of money on bits and bobs – you know when everything runs out at once?

If you click on one link this weekend: Slightly oddly I’m going to direct you towards a post from 2010… Laura of make do and mend has just celebrated her 5th blog anniversary, and as part of her retrospective linked to this lovely travel journal she made – has given me some ideas for my own!

psychedelic ham hock terrine

The week E had…

Made: Ham Hock terrine with watercress and quails eggs inspired by  this brilliant recipe

Did: attended a mustard cardigan and purple chinos party. Niche, yet brilliant!

Spent: I managed to source local meat for my mothers day menu, it’s taken a bit longer than if I had just been to the local supermarket (I had to visit two butchers!) but in the end I got exactly what I wanted and was educated by my butcher on how best to prepare and cook my meat. A lovely personal experience that has ensured I will be returning soon

If you click on one link this weekend: A few weeks ago we chose making as a theme for our ‘week of…..’ which happily has inspired making else wear. Check out Janet of Words That Can Only Be Your Own‘s fantastic baking and sewing skills, and do let us know what you’ve been making recently!

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Our week: 1st-8th March

  1. Janet says:

    Thanks for inspiring me to do my own week of making!

  2. It sounds like you had a great week. I love the cardboard Eiffel Tower – in fact, I have an obsession with all thing Paris. Also, I know what you mean about everything running out at once, and it always seems to happen to me just before pay day!

    • makedospend says:

      Always just before pay day, and always the little yet essential things that slip your mind to buy before you have completely run out!

Leave a Reply

