Visit: A Change of Heart, Leicester Botanical gardens

the knoll leicester botanical gardens

Our picnic basket was out again for a visit to Leicester University Botanical Gardens last weekend. After B visited last year for the first time, this year it was my turn.  A change of heart is the 12th annual sculpture in the garden exhibition which is on display until the 27th October 2013. We had a lazy picnic in the sunshine then whiled away a few hours by wandering around the gardens admiring the grounds and sculptures which add an extra dimension to the already beautiful gardens, there is something to see at every turn. I didn’t bake this time, though I would have liked to. Sometimes it’s all about seizing the moment and being spontaneous. This day was a case of last minute planning, grabbing a few snacks from the shop on our way and making the most of a beautiful afternoon in the sunshine.

Here are a few snaps from our day, the sculpture images are linked to the artist’s website so click on the image to learn more about the sculpture.

picnicpicnic benchpicnic picnicbotanical gardens leicesterbotanical gardens leicesterlilly pond botanical gardens leicesterbees leicester botanical gardens willow sculpture by Rachel Crterdama de noche leicester botanical gardensJapanese maples leicester botanical gardens Japanese maples and pigeons  leicester botanical gardens bruce Beasley- Brekout IIleicester botanical gardensAlice Cunningham- where I start and you endleicester botanical gardenswilliam Pye sculptureacornoak treeteaselDiane Maclean - Ovum

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

10 thoughts on “Visit: A Change of Heart, Leicester Botanical gardens

  1. It looks so beautiful there. Great photos, I really like the headless one on the bench!

  2. jensine says:

    what a beautiful day you had … love your photos

  3. dropscone says:

    I can’t believe it took me so long to visit this place, we only went for the first time last weekend, and it’s just such a lovely spot! I was quite tempted to pick some of the fruit though, which they probably frown on!

  4. Alice says:

    Hi! I just stumbled across your blog and image of my sculpture in Leicester (the fence piece, “Where I start and you end”) its a great photo! I wonder if I could use it as part of my documentation of the piece? If so who should I credit? Thank you! Alice Cunningham

Leave a Reply

