Make: Blackberry Gin

blackberry picking

I’m pretty excited about the arrival of autumn, largely because it’s such an amazing season for fresh produce. It would be rude not to take full advantage of it’s offerings, and we started just the other afternoon with blackberries, the inspiration for this year’s infused alcohol, blackberry gin. Made now it will be ready in three months time to be decanted into bottles and distributed among friends and family- just in time for Christmas.

Yes, I’m starting to think about Christmas, I know it’s early but balancing a busy work schedule and maintaining a healthy social life means I have to get organised, there will be no time for last minute shopping in the lead up to Christmas. This Is a lesson I have learnt the hard way. I’ve spent many a Christmas Eve battling through the crowds buying ‘that’ll do’ presents for my nearest and dearest. Not so last year, C and I created hampers for friends and family filled with our own homemade wares. It worked well and i’m planning to repeat this year with a few little changes.aylestone medowsblackberriesBlackberries are to be found in most hedgerows across the UK right now and as unlikely as it sounds we tracked down a glut of them just a spit away from the center of Leicester where we found ourselves among many fellow foragers. It took us around 45 minutes to pick the amount we needed. A passing dog walker had the following advice for us “Only pick above thigh height, to avoid dog wee” though quite commonsense, this is sound advice indeed!

gin

To Make Bramble Gin you will need:

  • 400g blackberries- washed and drained
  • 180g caster sugar
  • 1 litre of gin
  • 65g creme de mure/creme de cassis (optional)
  • A 2 litre capacity container with a tight fitting lid

Thoroughly wash the blackberries and allow them to drain- this is particularly important if you have picked your own, blackberries contain alot of nasty bugs and beasties. place the blackberries into a large container with the sugar and mix together well, add the gin, mix again then seal the lid onto the container. Store in a cool dry place for three months stirring occasionally. After three months strain the liquid through a sheet of muslin and decant into bottles.

blackberries

how are you making the most of Autumn?

Tagged , , , , , , ,

28 thoughts on “Make: Blackberry Gin

  1. Hannah says:

    How lovely to happen across your blog – it looks as though I live close by to you. I’ve been wanting to make blackberry gin for a while – this might be the year I actually do! Do you have any recommendations for the best blackberrying spots in Leicester? I probably ought to get going with the picking today, before the season is over.

  2. sally says:

    Lovely recipe! do you think it would work with vodka instead of the gin? x

  3. dixyblue says:

    Love your recipe – have been making damson vodka but as I’d also picked lots of blackberries I’m considering mixing them for one bottle as an experiment (Hedgerow fruit Vodka?) You look like a very neat person – after an afternoon picking my hands are purple and covered in nettle stings !

  4. Blackberrylancs says:

    Hi, Blackberry Gin, done and in a cool dry place so I can forget about it until Christmas… can’t wait!! A huge thank you for your blog. xx

    P.S. I’ll let you know the outcome. (P.S. Lancashire Blackberries)

    • makedospend says:

      Brilliant, It’s all about the preparation for christmas! Thank you for visiting and looking forward to swapping tasting notes nearer the time! :-)

  5. jenny says:

    love your recipe but can I do anything with the pulp? seems such a waste of beautiful “spirited” blackberries! Jenally

    • makedospend says:

      Hi Jenny,
      Yes I thought so too, I saved mine and fully intended to make a sorbet with them but ran out of time! This is what I would recomend, but cant guarantee it would work as ive not tried it!!

      • Jenny says:

        Sounds like a great idea, will give it a try but after Christmas !! Many thanks for finding time to reply to me.

      • makedospend says:

        No worries my dear! They sould freeze nicely I think, let us know how it turns out!!

      • Jenny says:

        They are in freezer now, will let you know end results. Happy Christmas.

      • makedospend says:

        Merry Christmas to you too!

      • Trev says:

        do it over with a medium sherry!!!
        others recommend it, but I’ve tried it and it is fabulous. Enjoy :-)

      • Jenny says:

        Hi trev
        I have actually made more blackberry vodka using the pulp, had to strain it thoroughly but it is very tasty!! Better than chucking all those blackberries away. About to start on making this years supply. Jenny

  6. I am currently drinking the blackberry gin I made in the autumn, having bottled and prettied-up the rest for Christmas presents! It’s lovely – thanks again for the idea.

  7. Di says:

    Hi, have only ever made Sloe Gin before but there are so many Blackberries this year decided to make bramble gin. found you on internet and am having a go, many thanks for the recipe

  8. Sophilita says:

    Thanks for the recipe! Mine is now done and steeping, alongside my (thought I’d have a go!) raspberry gin. Looks very pink and appealing. Good luck everyone on yours.. Happy booze making.

    • makedospend says:

      raspberry gin sounds rather good! I did sample some made by a local company called sloeberry spirits and it was fantastic!

  9. Steve says:

    Hi, might be a daft question but how much bramble gin do all the ingredients make please? Also, as I’m new to this, what the best way to sterilize the bottles with the metal swing top (like Grolsch). Thank you!!

    • makedospend says:

      Hi Steve, not a silly question at all, you should get roughly 1.5 litres of blackberry gin, I tasted mine every few weeks to check progress so was left with a little less than this! Best way to attack swing top bottles is to use a bottle brush and rinse thoroughly with hot soapy water then sterilise with a product such as Milton, hope this helps!

  10. Wendy says:

    How about using the left over strained blackberries to make a very boozy blackberry and apple crumble??!!

  11. Kathleen says:

    Hi I’ve just found your blog while looking for a use for frozen blackberries so thought I’d give it a go, however I only have demera and soft brown sugar, has anyone tried making it with either of these ???????????

    • makedospend says:

      Hi Kathleen, I very never tried with brown sugar or demerera but think it would work just as well, if not better. It would give you a deeper colour and more of a treacle/molasses background flavour which could be lovely, let us know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

