Day 11: Remembrance day

E's GrandfatherMy Grandparents are especially in my thoughts at this time of year.

Though they were not fallen in the war they each played a part and thankfully all went on to live long and happy lives

None of them spoke to me about their war experiences so what little information I have has been learnt from my Parents, old photographs and my Grandfather Jack’s contributions to the book “Tigers at Dunkirk: the Leicester Regiment and the fall of France”

My Grandfather was born on the 6th December 1918. He trained as an engineer and joined the Royal Leicestershire Regiment of the Territorial army (The Tigers) in July 1939 at just 21 years of age.

My Grandfather was battalion signals officer and was dispatched to France in April 1940 equipped with a single telephone and 50 yards of telephone cable, which seems quite inadequate for the task he was expected to undertake.  Jack’s favourite pipe also accompanied him to Dunkirk, this too survived the war and was puffed on continuously until Jack reached his early 80’s!

Jack was shipped out of Dunkirk on the 1st of June 1940

E's Grandparent's on their wedding dayJack was married to Mary, my grandmother just a few years later and released from military duty in 1946. Mary contributed to the war effort by working as a nurse in various Leicestershire hospitals.

Jack's release from duty

Jack was co-founder of the charity CARE, which became Self Unlimited and is now known as HftJack in deputy lord lieutenant's uniform

I’m so proud of my Grandfather, I feel this post barely scratches the surface of all that he achieved but hopefully goes some way to explain what Remembrance day means to me and why I wear my poppy with pride.

What does Remembrance Day mean to you?

Tagged , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Day 11: Remembrance day

  1. Urvashi Roe says:

    Such a beautiful and personal story. I’m in awe of your grandfather.

  2. A lovely tribute to your grandparents!

  3. Beautiful post. Thanks for sharing.
    Claire xx

Leave a Reply

