Day 21: World Television Day

For World Television Day we thought we’d focus on the shows we loves as children

There’s nothing like reminiscing over old cartoons and Saturday morning telly to get people animated!

E’s favorites:

I was born in the early 80’s so my childhood was filled with classic cartoons, Ask me to pick a favourite? That’s impossible! But there are a few that make the shortlist…

My all time favourite episode of Dogtanian and the Three Muskehounds

Moschops the Dinosaur…

The Family-ness…

And 80 Days Around the World…

Other favourites included Thundercats, The Racoons, Trapdoor… I could go on…!

B’s favourites…

And I was born towards the end of the 1980s – which surprisingly seems to make a significant difference in the different shows we were exposed to (although I also watched Trapdoor, The Racoons and The Family-ness!)

My absolute favourite TV show as a kid was Dappledown Farm… which was Brian Cant as the farmer, surrounded by lots of animal puppets…

I also loved Playdays with the Why Bird and Peggy Patch (this video is particularly amazing because it’s introduced by Otis the Aardvark!)

And then there’s The Herb Garden – still now, as a 26-year-old, I can’t hear the word ‘dill’ without automatically thinking ‘the dog’…

And finally, there’s James the Cat – some weird reason the theme tune occasionally gets stuck in my head, for days at a time sometimes…

Other notable mentions go to Postman Pat, The Sooty Show (izzy wizzy, let’s get busy!) and Spot the Dog

We both really loved watching our favourite children’s shows back online – a trip down memory lane! Which shows would make your list?

Tagged , ,

2 thoughts on “Day 21: World Television Day

  1. Janet says:

    Oh my gosh, I LOVED Dogtanian when I was a kid. Such a random and bizzare concept. Weirdly, I was talking about the strangeness of 80s kids TV this morning. Don’t think my boyfriend appreciated my 6.30am rendition of the Bertha theme tune.

Leave a Reply

