Make: Sour Cherry & Apple Bircher Muesli

bircher museli prep

I am by no means a morning person, rather than bouncing out of bed awake and alert I prefer to snatch a few more precious moments of sleep snuggled deeply beneath a cozy duvet. My alarm is always on snooze and usually wakes everybody else in the house up before me. Ive taken this aproch to mornings for as long as I can remember and  it invariably means I skip breakfast, particularly in the winter on dark frosty mornings. Yes, I know this is very naughty but on days where the choice is being late for work versus skipping breakfast I always choose the latter (And usually wind up a few minutes late for work anyway!) So in a bid to look after myself I thought breakfast on the go would be a wise decision. 

This overnight oats recipe is great for a portable breakfast and it can be prepared the night before (Leading to a bonus extra 2 mins in bed as a reward for being so organised!) Then grabbed quickly from the fridge before running to the car the following morning. I made up a batch in jam jars for easy transportation too.

Ingredients for 1 jam jar:

  • 1 apple, cut ito halves and one half grated
  • 75g rolled oats
  • 150ml pressed apple juice/pinapple juice/apple and mango juice
  • 50g of dried fruit, I use sour cherries but sultanas and raisins work well too

……and to finish you will need:

  • The other half of the above apple
  • a sprinkling of toasted nuts
  • a drizzle of honey
  • a spoonful of greek yoghurt

The night before combine the grated apple, oats, fruit juice and dried fruit in a jam jar, stir well to combine then pop the lid back on the jam jar and place in the fridge overnight. The oats and cherries will soak up all the fruit juice resulting in a fruity porridge-esque breakfast ready to go for the next day. Place the honey and yoghurt together in a separate pot and refrigerate overnight alongside the oat mixture. I also like to prepare my nuts the eve before and leave them on the kitchen side, all ready to go.

The following morning choose either of the following options, whichever is most suited to you

  1. Awake a minute or two before your alarm is set to go off. Tiptoe downstairs so as not to wake the rest of the household, make a nice cup of tea and remove bircher Muesli from the fridge. Neatly slice the remaining half of the apple and add this along with the nuts, honey and yoghurt to the top of the oat mix then sit calmly on the sofa doing something constructive like reading a good book or watching the morning news, safe in the knowledge you have plenty of time to prepare for the day ahead (How I wish my mornings started)
  2. Awake 20/30 minutes after your alarm goes off, usually with a cat sitting on my head or a vigorous shake from C telling me i’ve woken everybody else up by sleeping through my alarm and it’s really time to get up now. Stumble downstairs to make a cup of tea, which I probably won’t have time to drink, shower and get dressed (Clothes I also prepare the night before to avoid that just thrown on look) grab bircher muesli and run to the car, drive swiftly (but safely) to work, realise that despite my bed best efforts (yes I’m still wishing I was back in bed) I have forgotten the honey yoghurt and nuts diligently prepared the previous evening (no worries here, breakfast will still taste good) eat breakfast at the desk with a few disapproving looks from more organised/motivated colleagues. (how my morning actually starts)

Are you a morning person? 

bircher mueslibreakfast to go

Tagged , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Make: Sour Cherry & Apple Bircher Muesli

  1. dropscone says:

    I love dried sour cherries in overnight oats! They’re my new favourite discovery of the past six months.

    Have you tried putting the nuts in the main mixture overnight? They rehydrate and go crunchy in a different way. Works well with flaked almonds.

    • makedospend says:

      Sour cherries are one of my favourites! I made sour cherry fruit cakes for x-mas last year and was surprised to find a few left over, they don’t usually last long in my house!
      I’ve tried soaking the nuts overnight but i’m not so keen on the texture, although i’ve never tried with flaked almonds so will give them a whirl, thank you!

  2. Janet says:

    I am emphatically NOT a morning person. I don’t eat breakfast at home, as I can’t stomach food that early. So it’s usually a cup of Earl Grey and a cereal bar at my desk, at about 7.30, once I’m awake enough to digest! But this recipe looks great, and I could make it vegan by using soy yoghurt.

  3. bakearama says:

    Yum I love bircher muesli! My morning breakfast is normally porridge with apple so think I might give this a try for those days wen I really can’t get out of bed :-)

    • makedospend says:

      I do love a nice warm bowl of porridge on a cold frosty morning, especially with fresh fruit! I’m just always in too much of a rush to make it! :-)

Leave a Reply

