Make: Jam Jar Planters

you will need….

I’ve confessed to being a hoarder here  before, jam jars seem to be my weakness. I cannot throw them away, I cannot refuse them if they are offered to me and they are all but taking over the house. So last week I was offered a glut of jam jars which I accepted without hesitation. The same day I was chatting with my friend H about how she was growing spring bulbs in some old baking tins. H later sent me a picture of the bulbs and a message saying “i’m feeling a bit Narnia, Spring is coming” and I got all inspired to create my own Narnia at home with said jam jars and a little emulsion paint (yes, I collect paint too)

Here’s what you will need:

  • Jam jars, of varying sizes
  • Emulsion paint, this is a good way to use up leftover paint from recently decorated rooms
  • A paint brush
  • spring bulbs, I used daffodils and violas, (please note: I tried hyacinths, these do not fit into jam jars)
  • Compost soil

paint the inside of the jarsBegin by painting the inside of the jam jars, they may take a couple of coats, over a couple of days to ensure threw are no patches. Leave the jam jars in a warm place to dryleave to dry in a warm placeOnce the jars are completely dry plant the bulbs in the jam jars with plenty of moist compost and place them on the windowsill or mantlepiece.plantingbefore….…..afterdoneFinally, stand back and admire Narnia. It may be wet and windy outside but inside is now bright and full of the joys of spring!

How are you brightening up winter days?

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

11 thoughts on “Make: Jam Jar Planters

  1. That is so beautiful!

  2. Brilliant idea. I too am a hoarder of jam jars, now I know what to do with them, thank you!

  3. Reblogged this on Sweet Mabel and commented:
    A wonderful way to re-use jam jars. They would make beautiful gifts too!

  4. Fiunnily enough I bought a couple of daffodil plants yesterday…and I have jam jars too! Thank you…they look lovely….

  5. bakearama says:

    I recycled all my jam jars when we moved house, am regretting that now! We have so much paint though as Rob is a decorator… will get eating some jam :-)

  6. Laura says:

    These are so lovely and perfect for spring. I bought a pot of mini daffodils today to cheer up my desk at work.x

Leave a Reply

