Read: Favourite Quotes

B's first letterpress print

After seeing this post topic on Janet’s blog Words That Can Only Be Your Own, it got me thinking about some of my favourite quotations

I like certain lines from books, films and songs, sometimes because they feel particularly significant to my life, and other times because they just sound great or sum up a story really well

So here’s some favourites that come to mind – most of which are from songs, as I always remember words set to music over words I just read!

I never know what I want
But I know when I’m low that I
I need to be in the town where they know
What I’m like and don’t mind

Have I ever mentioned how much LOVE I have for Manchester band Elbow?

It’s not only the beautiful blend of instruments and lead singer Guy Garvey’s voice, but the brilliant wordplay in their lyrics

The above quote is from their song ‘Station Approach’ and I think I just like it because it’s so true – whenever I’m feeling sad I crave to be home, surrounded by my family and closest friends

But perhaps a better show of the brilliant wordplay in Guy Garvey’s lyrics and the magical mental images they inspire is found in ‘The Bones of You’ – just listen to the first few verses…

Instead of saying someone or something is funny, why don’t you just laugh?

Igby Goes Down is a  very underrated film in my opinion – it’s a dark comedy full of line after line of brilliant, witty observations

I often think of this line in particular when I see a comment somewhere online which includes ‘lol’ – and I wonder if they were really laughing out loud when they typed it!

You move like violence darlin’

I don’t know why I’ve always liked this line in Stephen Fretwell’s song ‘Bad Bad You, Bad Bad Me’

I think it’s the contrast with the earlier lines ‘You look so dainty darlin’/Crossing over the road/To where the taxis wait in line (which I also love the imagery of – and were the first words I ever letterpressed!)

And I’m really interested in the idea that someone can move like violence, rather than violently

Yet high over the city our line of yellow windows must have contributed their share of human secrecy to the casual watcher in the darkening streets, and I was him too, looking up and wondering. I was within and without, simultaneously enchanted and repelled by the inexhaustible variety of life.

The Great Gatsby is a very quotable book – when I read it a couple of years ago, I had to keep stopping to note down favourite lines – not something I usually do!

I love these sentences because I can visualise the view the character is looking out on…

But also it makes me think of all the times I’ve been whizzing past town after town on a train, or looking out across a city from high up – and I’ve thought about all the different lives happening out there, all the people I’ve never met and all their thoughts… amazing!

And I need you more than want you
And I want you for all time

I read somewhere recently that Wichita Lineman sung by Glen Campbell is possibly the best pop songs of all time

It’s definitely not a “cool” song to like, but I really love it for some reason – and the lines above always really stand out to me – what a beautiful way to put it

What do you think to my choices? I’d love to hear some of your favourite lines from books, songs and films

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Read: Favourite Quotes

  1. Janet says:

    I love Witchita Lineman so much, and those lines just slay me, what a beautifully romantic and simple way to put.

  2. I try to live by Gandhi “be the change you want to see”. Love inspirational quotes.
    Claire xx | somewhere… beyond the sea

Leave a Reply

