READ: Book Q&A

Harry Potter

I love filling out forms for some reason – and I miss the teenage days everyone used to email each other pointless questionnaires

So when I spotted this book survey doing the rounds, I couldn’t resist…

Author you’ve read the most books from: 
Realistically it’s probably something from my youth – Enid Blyton most likely, as I got through a fair few Famous Five and Secret Seven books!

Best sequel ever:
Well as a kid, I absolutely loved the Dark is Rising series by Susan Cooper – and I find the interesting thing is that the first book reads largely like a Famous Five book, but the second book massively steps up the magical elements – I keep meaning to re-read them all at some point

Currently reading:
Longbourn by Jo Baker, ready to discuss at book group later this month – it follows the stories of the servants who serve the Bennets in Pride and Prejudice – enjoying it!

Drink of choice while reading:
Tea… plenty of tea

E-reader or physical book:
I don’t have an e-reader – although I’ve had a go with other people’s and can definitely see it would be useful for travelling, I don’t think I can get away from the idea having a real book in my hands! I feel like I look at too many screens in a day as it is…

Fictional character you probably would have actually dated in high school:
I was absolutely in love with Bran in the Dark is Rising – and as a result decided I wanted to learn Welsh… which of course never happened

Glad you gave this book a chance:
Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert – I think I was a little put off because of the film and, weirdly, because there was a phase where so many bloggers were going on and on about it – but I tried it, and loved it (and then watched the film, which I didn’t like so much…!)

Hidden gem book:
Hmm, this is a tricky one! There’s a lot of books that I wouldn’t have thought to pick up if it wasn’t for studying them at school or university – one being the lovely Border Country by Raymond Williams, who I’d always just thought of as a literary critic – annoyingly I lent the book to someone a few years back, as I’d like to re-read it and rediscovered what captured my imagination so much

Important moment in your reading life:
I think maybe when we given a reading log in high school, to write down each book we read in a term – it was suggested we read something like five to 10… I was already pretty into reading, but I saw this as a challenge and ended up reading over 80 – I’d just sit and consume books

Just finished:
I’ve not been getting round to reading much recently, so it was the last title from my book group – The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion, which I’d massively recommend

Kind of books you won’t read:
Ghost stories and horrors – this goes for TV and films too – I’m a wimp! As a kid I used to buy ghost story anthologies and could never sleep after reading them

Longest book you’ve read:
I’ve attempted War and Peace and David Copperfield a couple of times without success, so it might  have to be one of the Harry Potter books or I remember Sebastian Faulks’ Human Traces being pretty long

Number of bookcases you own:
Not a bookcase as such, but lots of shelves (and a few cupboards!) Recently I’ve rejoined the library, which is saving me space and widening my reading horizons

One book you have read multiple times:
Frankenstein by Mary Shelley – firstly as part of my degree, and then a couple of times since for pleasure – most recently after seeing live streams of the National Theatre production with Benedict Cumberbatch and Johnny Lee Miller swapping roles as Frankenstein and the monster – amazing!

Preferred place to read:
Lying in the sunshine on a warm summer day, or buried under a blanket on the sofa in the winter

Reading regret:
The hundreds of books I want to read, but haven’t got round to yet – and the fact that I’m terrible at remembering details, I often know I liked/didn’t like a book without remembering exactly why!

Quote from a book that inspires you:
‘Eat food. Not too much. Mainly plants’ – I could (and maybe will) write an entire blog post on Michael Pollan’s non-fiction book In Defence of Food, it’s really made me think about what and how I eat

Series you started and need to finish:
Stieg Larsson’s trilogy – I just have the final book to go

Three of your all time favorite books:
A very hard question (I’m always terrible at ‘top’ lists) so I’m just going to do this off the top of my head…
– In Cold Blood by Truman Capote
– Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón
– Enduring Love – Ian McEwan

Unapologetic fangirl for:
Hmm, I’d probably say Ian McEwan and Carlos Ruiz Zafón

Very excited for this release more than all others:
I hear Kazuo Ishiguro is set to publish his first novel for 10 years – I loved Remains of the Day and Never Let Me Go, so I’m interested to read his new offering!

Worst book habit:
Going through phases of reading loads and loads, and then nothing for ages… to the point where I lose track of where I am in a book

X marks the spot: start at the top left of your shelf and pick the 27th book:
Empire of the Sun – J.G. Ballard

Your latest book purchase:
Along with Longborn, I bought Under the Skin by Michel Faber – I read about the film of the book coming out with Scarlett Johansson as the lead character, and then it was recommended as a book to read while in Scotland (not that I got round to reading it on our recent trip to the Cairngorms!)

Last book that kept you up too late:
The Rosie Project (and before that, re-reading Harry Potter!)

Do you agree/disagree? I’d love to see your responses – post a link to your blog if you do the same questionnaire! Any recommendations?

Tagged ,

2 thoughts on “READ: Book Q&A

  1. Janet says:

    I love this A-Z book Q&A! I answered them in November but it’s terribly tempting to have another go (although I suppose my answers won’t have changed that much). I’m really glad you’re enjoying Longbourn too – I’m loving it and can’t wait to discuss it in a couple of weeks.

  2. Hannah H says:

    I think those teenage days with the quizzes also featured myspace at some point! Completely get what you mean about e-readers and spending so much time looking at some form of screen as it is! I will never come round to them!
    I saw eat, pray, love in a charity shop but didn’t get it because the film version looked so cheesy, plus the cover was a movie tie-in which always puts me off, but its worth a read?
    and I went to see frankenstein in the national theatre- got to see benedict cumberbatch naked ;) ha! x

Leave a Reply

