Visit: Another Place

IMG_1362

For the past few months my job has been taking me all around England – it’s in equal measure great fun and pretty tiring

Often I only have enough time to hop off the train, check into a hotel, eat something with disposible cuttlery, attempt sleep and then head into my place of work for that day

But when I do have a little more time in one place, I’m trying to make the most of it – meeting up with friends, walking the streets, trying out indie restaurants, ducking my head into record shops…

And last week, taking a trip to the seaside!

Another Place IMG_1350

If you haven’t lived in a landlocked county all your life, you might not appreciate how exciting it is to see the sea (even age 27)

After checking into the hotel in Liverpool, my friend Andy picked me up and we headed just out of the city to see Antony Gormley’s public exhibition on Crosby beach

Another Place consists of 100 life-sized figures (cast from Gormley’s body) spread out across the shore and out into the sea, all facing towards the horizon

The sculpture are nothing new, but it was amazing to see in the flesh (or the cast iron, I suppose)

IMG_1352 IMG_1359 IMG_1357

Oh, and having watched a couple of women on the beach decorate one of the sculpture with a scarf, we couldn’t resist jazzing another up a little…!

IMG_1355

 

Have you ever visited Another Place? What did you think?

Tagged , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Visit: Another Place

  1. jensine says:

    How lovely and fun … and yes I do love to be beside the seaside (humming)

  2. shazzarob says:

    Its somewhere I have always wanted to visit. :)

  3. Love those shades!
    Diana xo

  4. LucyP says:

    Great perk of a work trip B! Do you know how long the sculptures will be there for? Lx

  5. Janet says:

    Ooh, I recognise that skirt from our shopping trip all those months ago!

Leave a Reply

