Do: IndieTracks

IMG_1649I’ve spoken before on the blog about how much I love trains, and specifically steam trains

I’m not sure where this fascination comes from, but I do know that last weekend, en route to IndieTracks, I was much more excited by the tracks element!

The annual indie-pop festival is held at the Midland Railway Centre in Derbyshire, and promises three days of upbeat music and vintage charm in a unique setting

I first went in 2011, and since then I’ve been desperate to go back – but every year something has happened to prevent a return visit – until last weekend!

IMG_1686 IMG_1671 IMG_1684

As with my first experience of IndieTracks, Saturday was a scorcher – and it was for this reason (plus bad time keeping skills) that we decided to skip watching a band on a train 

That didn’t stop us from jumping on a steam train at the first opportunity, and taking a ride up the line and back

I was in my element, sticking my head out of the window and waving at a not-quite-so-enthusiastic-old-man in another carriage – my friends just calmly watched while sipping their beer

IMG_1701 IMG_1695 IMG_1699 IMG_1703

Seeking some shade in the early afternoon sun, we headed into some of the exhibition sheds

I absolutely loved all the railway paraphernalia – it’s odd to think they were just functional signs at one point, but such desirable decorative objects now 

And we were sure to stop by The National Fork Lift Truck Heritage Centre – I’m afraid I couldn’t quite get as excited by this machinery, but it’s great that some people do appreciate fork lifts so much they created a dedicated museum!

IMG_2627 IMG_1660IMG_2632 IMG_1657 IMG_1709

We returned to the main festival site and spent the rest of the day watching bands (on the main stage, in a huge shed, in a fake church, in a tent…) and chatting away (on the grass, on the fake beach, in a train-carriage-now-bar…)

As well as friends Andy and Lisa, it was fantastic to be able to spend time with Laura from make do and mend and her friend Caroline – I couldn’t believe how quickly the day flew by

What I love about IndieTracks is that you could know absolutely none of the bands and still have the most amazing day – it’s just such a lovely, friendly atmosphere, with so much to see and do

There was one act that I was really looking forward to though, and he definitely didn’t disappoint…

IMG_1721

Gruff Rhys performed an excellent set, with songs from his latest concept album American Interior, which follows the story of explorer John Evans, who travelled across America in the 1790s searching for a fabled Welsh-speaking tribe – very funny, very talented

What an excellent day – I’ll be back next year (fingers crossed!)

Know of any other festivals with unique settings? I’d love to hear about them!

And make sure to check out Laura’s review of IndieTracks HERE

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Do: IndieTracks

  1. literally sounds like a great show! The post reminded me of this lovely track (train song) by feist and ben gibbard

  2. jensine says:

    looks liek fun and love those blue seats in that train

  3. Laura says:

    It was such a fun weekend! I need to track down that Gruff Rhys film now too. The cardboard record player workshop was a little bit hot and difficult to do though, but it was good nonetheless! x

  4. Janet says:

    Every year I promise myself I’ll go, and every year something gets in the way (in this case, a wedding). Ah well, there’s always next year…

Leave a Reply

