Do: Look up!

IMG_1562

Sometimes when I’m walking along the street I play a game

It’s really very simple – as I stroll along I make sure my head is lifted up and as I pass by someone else I look at their face and attempt to make eye contact

And if I get it, I smile – and if it’s early in the day, maybe even throw in a ‘good morning’

(For some reason I never quite know what to say post-12pm, ‘hello’ seems a bit awkward and ‘good afternoon’, very formal!)

Sometimes my smile is met with an unfriendly deadpan stare, sometimes people look away awkwardly, sometimes they genuinely look surprised that you’re acknowledging them 

I win the game if I get them to smile back

Try it – you’ll be surprised by how many people walk along staring at their feet – or at their phone

As well as the dangerous possibility of walking into the road, they’re missing so much of the world around them!

And if you do get a friendly response, you’ll be amazed by how much it can brighten your day

On a vaguely related note

The perils of not looking up when you’re taking trendy shoe shots…

IMG_1563

Tagged ,

4 thoughts on “Do: Look up!

  1. Is that foam? From the ocean?

    Great advice. I try to make eye contact with those whom I pass while out walking as well!
    :)
    Diana xo

  2. makedospend says:

    Yes! Those shoes haven’t been the same since…!

  3. Janet says:

    This really made me smile (sorry if I’m laughing at the demise of beloved shoes!).

    I’m not amazing at eye contact, the thing I really enjoy looking up for is to see the detail on buildings. Most British cities have identikit shopfronts, but once you look up you see amaxingly beautiful old buildings (and sometimes amazingly ugly 60s ones).

  4. Laura says:

    This is such a lovely idea. I will try and put it into practice! Also agree with Janet, there are some beautiful buildings out there if you look up past the (often ugly) shop fronts x

Leave a Reply

