Make: Earl Grey Tea Vodka

earl grey tea vodka, tea party

Heads up people, Vodka is on offer in the big orange shop right now, adding to the festive cheer. I snaffled myself three litres of the stuff with a view to creating some alcohol infused alchemy from the comfort of my own home.

I’ve no doubt mentioned a fair few times that Earl grey tea is my favourite, I simply can’t start the day without a cup. Don’t get me wrong, i’m not suggesting this is the way to start the day, with a glass of tea steeped vodka, I merely propose this would make an excellent gift for the tea lover in your life and would add a new dimension to tea parties as we are in fact in the midst of party season.

Unlike other infused alcohol recipes this is fairly swift to turn around, rather than impatiently waiting for months on end for the booze to infuse I made mine from start to finish in around three hours. This timing includes packaging and of course a little tasting (Which is essential!)

Vodka doesn’t have quite the strength of flavour as other booze, making it an excellent flavour carrier and perfect for infusing. The recipe will also work tremendously with Gin, in fact after earl grey tea, Gin and tonic is my second favourite drink so i’m slightly regretting not including it now. However I did err on the side of caution worrying the strength of flavour in gin would be a step too far.  Heston is of course there with the gin already, so i’ll save it for another day.

vodka, on special offer

To make 1 litre of earl grey tea vodka you will need

  • stock syrup: 100g caster sugar and 100ml water
  • 1 litre of Vodka (or Gin)
  • 4 earl grey tea bags
  • 1/4 teaspoon of ground cardamom
  • A clean, sterilised 1.5 to 2 litre capacity container with a tight fitting lid
  • Clean, sterilised bottles to decant the infused vodka into

Begin by making the stock syrup, place both the sugar and water into a saucepan, bring the mixture to a rolling boil to allow the sugar to dissolve. The mixture will turn from cloudy to clear, at this point remove the stock syrup from the heat and set aside to cool.

Place the vodka, along with the tea bags and cardamom into the large container and allow the mix to steep for one and a half to two hours. I like my tea strong so I left mine for two, taste the booze after an hour to see how it’s getting on and to ensure you get the right strength of flavour for you. After all brewing tea is a personal thing, these timings are just a guideline but I wouldn’t go further than 2 hours. Also, a note on cardamom. This is an optional ingredient but it really works here as it has a floral citrus note, akin to earl grey tea. A small amount will enhance the flavour of the tea no end, so do try it. I promise you, it’s worth it!

bottled, earl grey tea vodka

Once your tea is brewed to your taste discard the tea bags, stir in the stock syrup and transfer the booze into bottles, a funnel is always useful here.

The recipe makes 1.2 litres of earl grey tea vodka. I like to bottle mine into miniature 187ml wine bottles, this recipe fills 6 nicely, provided you only take small sips when tasting! Sealing the bottle tops with wax and a homemade label adds a finishing touch.

And to serve, on the rocks with a slice of lemon does the trick.

earl grey tea vodka, on the rocks

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

10 thoughts on “Make: Earl Grey Tea Vodka

  1. Yum! This sounds delicious!
    Diana xo

  2. Holly says:

    Wow, this sounds amazing!!! We have about 3 litres of various fruit concoctions steeping, they go liquory as we sugar up big time!!
    I love this idea though!!

    • makedospend says:

      Thank you! I love a good fruity flavoured booze too, i’m just not that great at waiting until it’s ready, although sneaky tastes to see how it’s going are essential, surely?!

      • Holly says:

        No… no tasting allowed! We’re so close to decanting now! We’ve had no kitchen since mid October so need new kitchen in (going in this week) so we can decant!!

      • makedospend says:

        Your will power is admirable! Hope all goes well with the new kitchen

  3. Janet says:

    I adore Earl Grey tea so will definitely be giving this a try, thanks for the recipe! I made a vegan Early Grey tea loaf recently that was SO good, I decided Earl Grey should go in everything from now on.

    • makedospend says:

      Thank you Janet, it’s well worth a try, especially for us earl grey fanatics! I absolutely love the idea of it in a cake too, and in fact in all puddings, and all biscuits!

  4. Ruth says:

    This sounds really refreshing. I had an Early Grey and gin-based cocktail in Bar Dos Hermanos at the weekend and it was a revelation so I’m definitely going to try this vodka version – I love your vintage teacups too!

    • makedospend says:

      Thank you Ruth, i’m certainly going to check out the Bar Dos offering, and soon! The teacups were my granny’s, so pretty special to me, and it seemed fitting to crack them out for this little photoshoot!

Leave a Reply

