Do: Get organised

sharpen pencils

It’s been a little quiet of late on the make do and spend front, January has found me penniless and wanting to curl up in a ball and hibernate. I’ve busied myself with the indoor activity of getting organised and in so doing have performed something of a minor miracle.

I cleaned out my room of mess.

I first wrote of the room of mess in February 2013 where I talked of my plans to attack the mess. It has remained in a constant state of mess ever since, in fact the chaos has accumulated since I moved into my little house nearly 5 years ago……that is until now.

So, here’s a little peek at how it has existed for the last 4 and a half years, painful and shameful viewing I’m sure you will agree

before

As you can see, this was no small undertaking. I attacked it over a few painful weeks with small flurries of cleansing, tidying, determination, disgust and self loathing followed by a massive sense of accomplishment as the job got closer to completion

after

…….And here is how it looks today! Hooray for organisation!

So, now we re-name this room E’s study and I can get on with the fun task of making the room pretty and of course, blog worthy

Let’s take a moment to remember William Morris’ wise words “Have nothing in your house that you don’t know to be useful or believe to be beautiful.”

I’m sure he did not have a magpie like myself in mind when he wrote this

finishing touches 

This morning I indulged in the smile pleasure of sharpening all the pencil crayons I had unearthed during the cleanse. A completely rock and roll way to spend a sunday morning I tell you! Then I set about creating little homes for the pencils to live in by upcycling some old tin cans that were lurking in the kitchen (once a hoarder, always a hoarder) out came the masking tape (Of which, post cleanse I find I have six rolls) and paint tester pots (Best not to ask how many of these were discovered)

recycle tin cans

Before….

paint tin cans

……during……..

organisation

……….after

new home for pencils

So now all my pens, pencils and paintbrushes have new homes and the world is a better place

Roll on payday and get me back too the pub!

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Do: Get organised

  1. Janet says:

    Those pencil tins looks amazing! Well done on bringing order to your room of mess – my spare room tends to go the same way, getting progressively more and more stuffed with junk until I blitz it and get it looking lovely, only for the process to start over again!

    • makedospend says:

      Thank you! Yes, I hope it never returns to quite the same state of disarray, i’m planning to keep on top of it but i’m easily distracted…!

  2. Elise says:

    Wow that room looks so organised now, I’m a bit jealous of your lovely shelving! :)

    • makedospend says:

      Thank you, Im so glad its over now! The shelves were from ikea around 10 years ago now, but still incredibly useful. The boxes are from B&Q, purchased earlier this year and by lucky chance slotted into the old shelves perfectly!

Leave a Reply

