Make: Rhubarb Rum

shake the rhubarb and sugar together

Its no secret that both B and I struggle on decision making, i’m talking about those game changing decisions like when you need to decide what pudding to choose or which bread to have with your soup, you know? The important stuff. When it comes to ingredients this is where I suffer most from indecision. One of the main problems I have when I strike upon a treasured ingredient is deciding what to do with it, how to make the most out of them and show them in their best light, The annual spring rhubarb discovery is no exception

I always get massively excited about Yorkshire rhubarb, in fact there’s nothing about rhubarb that doesn’t make me smile. Not only is it one of my favourite vegetables it also signals a turn in the seasons, spring is in sight and good riddance to winter! It’s easily foraged, it grows right here in the UK and everything about it is bold, both colour and flavour theres no arguing with it, an all round win in my view.

So, what to make? Luckily on this occasion C and I had a plan. Booze.

We’ve been talking and planning on and off for almost a year, then for Christmas I received a bottle of Rhubarb Gin from a fellow Rhubarb and Gin worshiper H, possibly the finest alcohol to ever pass my lips and this sealed the deal. Then last weekend the plan was finally put into reality. But there was still one big decision to be made, which booze to infuse? Having tried the gin I knew the results would be amazing but we were desperate to try the rum too, in the end we made both just to hedge our bets. Rhubarb rum and rhubarb gin, this is quite possibly the finest homemade booze we have ever made, even if I do say so myself so grab yourself a bottle of rum and or Gin and some rhubarb and get making!

fill up the jar with rum

To make rhubarb rum you will need:

  • 1 litre of white rum
  • 500g rhubarb- the pinker the better
  • 1 vanilla pod
  • 100g caster sugar
  • You will need a sterilised Tupperware container to store the booze in, or alternatively this recipe fits perfectly into a 1.5 litre capacity Kilner jar

To make rhubarb gin use the same quantities as the above recipe but omit the vanilla pod

Cut the rhubarb into chunks and place the sugar, vanilla pod and the rhubarb into the container then replace the lid and give the ingredients a good shake. Pour in the booze and store in a cool place for one week so the booze can infuse. The alcohol will slowly take on the colour of the rhubarb and turn a beautiful pastel pink colour. When the week is up strain off the liquid and store in a sterilised bottle, the booze will last for a few months sealed, I think, ours didn’t last very long!

perfectly pink rhubarb booze

So what to make with Rhubarb rum? Rhubarb Mojitos of course!

to make 1 rhubarb rum mojito You will need:

  • 3 stalks of mint
  • 50ml rhubarb rum
  • half a lime
  • 1tbsp caster sugar
  • crushed ice
  • soda water

Muddle the lime, sugar and mint together in a high ball glass to release the flavours, add crushed ice, pour over the rum and top up with soda water, garnish with a sprig of mint and serve

rhubarb mojitos

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Make: Rhubarb Rum

  1. shazzarob says:

    I love rhubarb too.Your recipes look divine.Have you ever tried Mr Fitzpatricks rosehip and rhubarb cordial.Its my fave cordial and is nice mixed with most alcahol.If you want to cheat!

    • makedospend says:

      Rosehip and rhubarb cordial sounds absolutely delicious! I’ll definitely be looking out for that, thank you :-)

  2. Janet says:

    Right, I’m coming round to yours for a rhubarb mojito post haste! This post made me drool!

    Hope you’re feeling better, too x

    • makedospend says:

      Janet, you are welcome for mojitos any time!
      i’m much better thank you, although sad to have missed out on many fun things last week! x

  3. NickkiT says:

    I absolutely love this! Saved and I’ll definitely give it a try :-)

    • makedospend says:

      Hi Nickki, this comes highly recommended! Let me know if you do give it a try and what you think, i’m planning another batch soon too :-)

  4. Oh this looks wonderful, I’m a huge lover of all things rhubarb and gin so this is winning on two fronts. I’m hoping to get some rhubarb planted once spring rolls around so i’m book marking this for coming years!

    • makedospend says:

      Hi Rachael, i’m a big lover of all things rhubarb too though I’ve never attempted to grow it before as my gardening skills aren’t great, though I love the idea of being able to pick some whenever you fancy, that would be amazing! Do let us know if you give the recipe a try

Leave a Reply

